What I Ate Wednesday (Valentine’s Edition)

I hope you all had a lovely Valentine’s Day. Here is what I ate yesterday:

img_4661
8:26 AM| Breakfast: Blueberry Pancakes
We normally don’t have pancakes during the week, but given that it was a special day I decided to make some for Ben and I. This recipe from the Youtuber Niomi Smart calls for 1 banana, 1 cup oats, and 1 cup of almond milk, all mixed in the blender. We didn’t have any almond OR coconut milk so I just used water, but they still turned out delicious! I also added some blueberries in for extra sweetness.

img_4665-1
1:46 PM| Lunch: Pasta with Veggies
This red lentil pasta with broccoli, spinach, and red onion was left over from our dinner last night. I love the red lentil pasta, which is by the brand Tolerant, because the only ingredient is red lentils and there are 18g of protein per serving! I seasoned the dish with olive oil, Himalayan salt, and pepper.

img_4670
4:46 PM| Afternoon Snack: Apple with Peanut Butter
I really wanted a snack, so I opted for an organic gala apple with chunky peanut butter. I may have gone back for more spoonfuls of peanut butter. 😉

img_4684
8:08 PM| Dinner: Wild Salmon with a Mustard Glaze, Wilted Spinach, and Boiled Smashed Red Potatoes
We decided to make an extra special meal for Valentine’s Day. Ben picked up the wild salmon and I made the mustard glaze (dijon mustard, olive oil, lemon juice, garlic, salt, and pepper) and added a sprig of fresh dill and slices of lemon on top before baking. When it came out, we sprinkled fresh dill on top. Then we steamed the spinach with garlic, which tasted great with lemon juice. Possibly my favorite part of the meal were the potatoes. I boiled medium sized red potatoes and then ‘smashed’ them up with fresh chives, garlic, and local ghee. Everything went together so well, and we both agreed that this was one of the most delicious meals we had ever made together.

img_4690
9:12 PM| Dessert: Chocolate Covered Strawberries and Bananas with Rose Champagne
These strawberries were super simple to make! I used this recipe from Oh She Glows. It calls for raw cacao powder, coconut oil, maple syrup (which I subbed with honey because we had more of it), nut butter (I used almond butter), and sea salt. You simply combine the ingredients in a pot on the stove over medium low heat and whisk it together, then dip the strawberries in! I tried sprinkling a seed mix over some to as as sprinkles, as well as nuts (pecans and walnuts) and salt. Of course, I made plenty of plain ones as well. Ben and I both agreed that the plain and the nut ones were the tastiest. Since I had some extra chocolate, I dipped a banana in as well and added the nuts to some of those. To top off our Valentine’s dinner we had a bottle of rose champagne. I loved the pink hue as it felt especially festive!

I hope you enjoyed this themed version of ‘What I Ate Wednesday’ and have a great rest of the week.

With love,
x Kelley

Leave a Reply

