What I Ate Wednesday

Another week, another ‘What I Ate Wednesday’! Here we go…

img_4512

9:17 AM| Breakfast: Oatmeal with Berries

Pretty similar to last week’s breakfast, but oatmeal is my ultimate morning staple! This time I added blueberries, strawberries, blackberries, walnuts, a mix of seeds, and some local honey.

img_4525

12:54 PM| Lunch: Scrambled Eggs with Kale

We didn’t have much in the house on this day and didn’t really feel like going out to get anything as I had a lot of work to do, so I made some scrambled eggs and added in kale for extra nutrients. A yummy and protein-packed lunch!

img_4527

1:17 PM| Lunch (continued): Pickles

The eggs weren’t super filling, so I had a couple of pickles a little bit after lunch. Kind of a weird snack, I know, but pickles are actually really good for your digestion because they are a fermented food. Plus, these ones are from a local company called Grillo’s Pickles. Always good to support local businesses! I like the Italian Dill Spears best, and I love to keep a bit of fresh dill on each one when I eat them.

img_4537

4:09 PM| Afternoon Snack #1: Kiwi

I was getting pretty hungry in the afternoon and knew that Ben wouldn’t be home for dinner in the near future, so I chopped up a kiwi to snack on. These little gems are so pretty and equally delicious! I love it when they are still a little sour.

img_4541

4:25 PM| Afternoon Snack #2: Banana with Peanut Butter and Cinnamon

One kiwi wasn’t enough to curb my appetite, so I sliced up a banana, sprinkled some cinnamon on top, and added a tablespoon of peanut butter on the side to dip them in. Sweet and salty- my favorite combo!

img_4544

7:49 PM| Dinner: Green Powerhouse Pesto Plate (inspiration: OhSheGlows)

Finally it was dinner time! We ate pretty late today, but it was well worth the wait. I made this recipe from one of my favorite plant-based recipe blogs, Oh She Glows. It’s called the ‘Green Powerhouse Pesto Plate’, and essentially is quinoa and green lentils topped with zucchini, spinach, and a homemade pesto dressing. It was SO GOOD, and surprisingly easy to make. However, next time I would probably make double the amount of veg as we like to have plenty of leftovers and didn’t have much zucchini or spinach to spare.

I hope you enjoyed following along with my meals today. We’re halfway through the week- I know we can do it! See you Friday.

xx Kelley

 

Leave a Reply

