What I Ate Wednesday

Here’s what I ate on a random day last week…

img_4290
9:06 AM| Breakfast: Oatmeal with Berries and Walnuts
This morning I decided to switch it up from the usual banana and oatmeal and opted for berries instead! Daring, I know. We had strawberries and blueberries in the fridge so I added those to my oatmeal, local honey, and maca combo and then sprinkled some chopped walnuts and pecans on top.

img_4319
9:30 AM| Daily Supplements: Black Seed Oil, Probiotics, Folic Acid and B12
I thought I would share my daily supplements with you. I usually take these right after breakfast. The black seed oil aids in healthy hair growth, the probiotic is the 80 billion live culture version from Renew Life, and the Folic Acid and B12 supplements are both from a brand called Solgar. The B12 supplement is actually methycobalamin, an active coenzyme of B12, which is a version of B12 that is more readily available for the body to absorb. Probiotics are a new addition to my life and so far they seem to really help with decreasing my consistent stomach aches, bloating, and gas. Folic acid is something I my body has a hard time processing so I choose to take it as a supplement, and as someone on a plant-based diet I like to take B12 to ensure that I have enough.

img_4311
1:16 PM| Lunch: Macrobiotic Bowl
We had these bowls for dinner the night before and still had leftovers, which made me very excited as I love this meal! It consists of brown rice flavored with organic miso, steamed spinach and carrots, tofu (marinated in liquid aminos, ginger, and garlic), green onions, kimchi, and sesame seeds. The main inspiration for this recipe came from here, but we did adapt it to make it our own (i.e. no dressing, cooked carrots, miso rice, and liquid aminos subbed for soy sauce). This bowl is bursting with yummy different flavors that mesh together really well. It was actually our first time making tofu as we aren’t big soy people, but we were happy with the result. Also, kimchi and miso are excellent ways to get probiotics in your food, which helps with a healthy gut and better digestion!

img_4316
2:26 PM| Afternoon Snack #1: Prunes
My favorite sweet treat are prunes! I know, they may seem like a weird snack, but don’t knock it ’til you try it! They are super sweet, great for digestion, and in my opinion, the perfect afternoon pick-me-up.

img_4323
2:38 PM| Afternoon Snack #2: Chamomile Tea with Honey
I also decided to sip on some soothing chamomile tea to help me get through the last stretch of work in the afternoon. My favorite sweetener for tea is local raw honey from the Boston Honey Company, which can be purchased at the Boston Public Market downtown on Hanover Street.

img_4327
7:12 PM| Dinner: Chana Masala
For dinner, Ben and I decided to make the Easy Chana Masala recipe from Minimalist Baker, which can be found here. It’s a pretty simple recipe, and we decided to have it over quinoa instead of rice since we had already had a lot of rice recently. The chickpeas with tomatoes and spices make for a warming meal on a winter day.

So there you have it, that’s what I ate on a random day. I hope you enjoyed this second “What I Ate Wednesday”! I really enjoy making these posts. Please let me know if you like reading them! Hope you enjoy the rest of your week!

x Kelley

 

Leave a Reply

