Relax & Unwind with Yoga

I recently stumbled upon Yoga with Adriene, a Youtube channel dedicated to yoga. Adriene is so genuine and I love the way she teaches. Although I am a bit late to the party, I am working through her “Yoga Revolution” series at the moment. My favorite video so far was “Day 8- Practice Serenity”. This practice was incredibly relaxing and promoting of self-love and care.

I had never really thought about what the word “yoga” meant until I began to read The Heart of Yoga by T.K.V. Desikachar. According to this book, yoga means “to come together” as well as “to tie the strands of the mind together”. A third meaning of the word is “to attain what was previously unattainable”. Yet another is “to be one with the divine”. Although there are all of these ways to interpret the word, there is no right or wrong. Through all of these, practicing yoga means being present. Yoga with Adriene’s Day 8 exercise really made me feel present with myself and promoted the cultivation of self-love.

I urge you to try out this easy-going video linked below (it even includes the use of a pillow to rest your head on!). It is a great way to kick off the weekend and get into a more restful mindset, or just restart and clear your mind from the business of the week. It’s also a reminder to love yourself, pay attention to your body and mind, and live in the present.

I hope you have a weekend of light and happiness… and yoga. 😉

With love,

x Kelley

Leave a Reply

