What I Ate Wednesday

I love reading posts and watching videos of what other people eat in a day, so I decided to share my own! Although I didn’t mention it as I felt it would get repetitive, all of the food I purchase and consume is organic and contains no refined sugar and no GMOs (genetically modified organisms) whenever possible. I also strive to maintain a plant-based diet, and although I am technically pescatarian (the only kind of meat I consume is fish), I try to eat mostly vegan and gluten-free.

The photos here were taken on my GoPro Hero 4 because I initially planned for this to be a video, but wasn’t happy with the result, so I am using the pictures in a blog post instead! I am going to try to make a video again in the near future, though. Without further ado, here’s a typical day of food…

gopr1515-0001
7:47 AM| Breakfast: Oatmeal with Banana
Today I had my go-to breakfast of oatmeal with a heaping teaspoon of peanut butter, about 1 teaspoon of local honey, 1/2 teaspoon of maca powder, and 1/2 a banana. It is so creamy and sweet, and has become my favorite thing to eat first thing in the morning.

gopr1519-0001
10:44 AM| Morning Snack #1: Apple and Almond Butter
I always say that it seems like around this time of the day I start to get hungry, no matter what I have had for breakfast! I prefer to have smaller meals throughout the day rather than three huge ones, so snacks are necessary. One of my favorite snacks is a sliced apple with a heaping tablespoon of almond butter and some cinnamon sprinkled on top! This combo is sweet and salty- you can’t go wrong!

gopr1520-0001
10:53 AM| Morning Snack #2: Goji Berries
I was still a little peckish after the apple and almond butter, so I grabbed a handful of goji berries to nibble on. These little gems from China are chock-full of antioxidants.

gopr1521-0001
2:11 PM | Lunch: Green Smoothie
My morning snacks left me pretty full for awhile, which is why I had a bit of a late lunch. I decided to go to a local juice bar called Energize, where I ordered “The Green Monster”. This smoothie was made with hemp milk, avocado, spinach, spirulina, tumeric, and raw agave (I subbed out the cayenne pepper as I was worried that it would trigger acid reflux). I also added camu camu powder, an extremely concentrated source of vitamin C, because Ben is getting over a cold that I don’t want to catch!

gopr1554-0001
3:34 PM| Afternoon Snack #1: Prunes
I decided to have a few prunes to tie me over until dinner. I know they aren’t the most visually appealing snack in the world, but they are surprisingly tasty!

gopr1555-0001
4:38 PM| Afternoon Snack #2: Chamomile Tea
Tea is one of my favorite drinks, and I find chamomile to be so soothing. I added some local, raw wildflower honey from the Boston Honey Company as a sweetener. Sipping on tea while doing work just makes the experience that much more cozy.

gopr1560-0001
7:31 PM| Dinner: Roasted Sweet Potatoes with Quinoa Mix
For dinner, Ben made us some delicious roasted sweet potatoes. The first step is to set the oven to 400 degrees Fahrenheit. Then he chops the potatoes and covers them with curry, turmeric, and black pepper before tossing them in coconut oil. Next, he puts them in a dish with a lid on top (to keep them juicy, he says) and roasts them for about 40 minutes. The quinoa mix that we had was made in a pan with tri-colored quinoa, vegetable broth, water, cumin, chili powder, garlic powder, sea salt, black pepper, and olive oil. Ben added kidney and pinto beans to the quinoa when it was done, as well as chopped avocado, and a splash of fresh lime juice. A delicious combo!

Do you like this type of post? Would you be interested in a series of them? Please let me know in the comments below.

x Kelley

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

