Travel: Jay Peak, Vermont

On the first day of 2017, Ben and I woke up around 4 AM to make the trek to Jay Peak in Vermont, which is about a 30 minute drive away from Canada. The road trip was mostly dark, but once the sun began to rise the views of the mountains were stunning.

When we first arrived at the resort, the area was still in the midst of several days of snow, aptly named the “snowpocalypse” by the locals. This meant lots and lots of fresh powder! I hadn’t been on skis in at least a couple of years so I spent some of the morning on the beginner slopes. By mid-morning, I was ready to hit the intermediate trails. My favorite was Angel’s Wiggles, which was just enough of a challenge without being too scary. It was so cold at the top, but I loved how beautiful the coniferous trees looked as they were consistently coated with a layer of ice and snow.

After lunch with our friends, who are skilled snowboarders and who were our guides for the day, we headed back out. By then the sun was shining and the air felt crisp. We tried the Lower Goat Run, and this was my least favorite. Although there was an incredible panoramic view, the run was extremely steep and since it was so late in the day, it was practically all ice! I was way out of my comfort zone, but I am proud of myself that I was able to pull through the challenge without any major catastrophes!

On the way home, we stopped at a gastropub in St. Johnsbury, Vermont called Kingdom Taproom for après ski. We each ordered a local beer from their extensive beer list, followed by a delicious artichoke cheese dip special. For the main course we split a ‘green machine’ panini, which included toasted sour dough with oven-roasted zucchini, summer squash, artichoke hearts, roasted red pepper, sun-dried tomato, onion, mushroom, pesto and mozzarella. We loved all of the food that we ordered so much that we want to make a tradition of going to Kingdom Taproom every time we visit Jay!

Overall this ski getaway was a lot of fun. It was just what I needed to get back into the sport. It’s too easy to get comfortable indoors and rarely leave the house in these colder months. Skiing is a great way to enjoy the outdoors in the winter and get some fresh air. I can’t wait to go again soon!

 

Leave a Reply

